

Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church completes its final session of 2011

[gallery]

The final of 2011 session of the Holy Synod was held at the Patriarch's residence in St. Daniel's Monastery on December 28.

Members of the Holy Synod resolved to appoint Bishop Alexander of Dmitrov, a vicar of the Moscow diocese, Bishop of Bryansk and Sevsk. The Synod nominated His Eminence Feofilakt (Moiseev) Bishop of Dmitrov, a vicar of the Moscow diocese, and thanked him for his work of governing the diocese of Bryansk.

Metropolitan Kirill of Yekaterinburg and Verkhoturie was charged with temporary administration of the diocese of Kamensk.

The new diocese of Kansk was established in the Krasnoyarsk metropolia in compliance with the Holy Synod's decision of October 5-6, 2011. Metropolitan Panteleimon of Krasnoyarsk and Achinsk was charged with temporary administration of the new diocese.

The new Novgorod metropolia was established in the Novgorod region. It includes the dioceses of Borovichi and Novgorod. Archimandrite Yefrem (Barbiniagra), a cleric of the Novgorod diocese, was elected (nominated) Bishop of Borovici and Pestovo.

The dioceses of Bezhetsk, Rzhev and Tver were included into the Tver metropolia. The Holy Synod resolved to appoint Bishop Adrian of Bezhetsk, a vicar of the Tver diocese, Bishop of Rzhev and Toropets. Hegumen Filaret (Gusev), a cleric of the Tver diocese, was elected Bishop of Bezhetsk and Vesiegonsk.

The dioceses of Iskitim, Karasuk and Kainsk were included into the Novosibirsk metropolia. Hieromonk Feodosiy (Chashcin), a cleric of the Novosibirsk diocese, was nominated Bishop of Kainsk and Barabinsk; hegumen Filipp (Novikov), a cleric of the Novosibirsk diocese, was elected Bishop of Karasuk and Ordynskoye; hegumen Luka (Volchkov), a cleric of the Novosibirsk diocese, was appointed Bishop of Iskitim and Cherepanovo.

The Synod released archpriest Alexander Abramov from his duties of vice-chairman of the Synodal Department for Religious Education and Catechization in compliance with his request.

Summoned to the spring and summer sessions of the Holy Synod in 2012 were: Metropolitan Nifont of Lutsk and Volyn, Metropolitan Pavel of Ryazan and Mikhailov, Archbishop Nikon of Ufa and Sterlitamak, Bishop Tikhon of Maikop and Adygeya, Bishop Aristarkh of Kemerovo and Novokuznetsk.

Source: https://mospat.ru/en/news/54690/